Home » Food » Flaxseed Oatmeal cookies with Coconut oil.

Flaxseed Oatmeal cookies with Coconut oil.


Well, today I made some oatmeal cookies with coconut oil. The reciep called for butter but I replaced it with coconut oil. Now the first batch came out too crispy because first I used quick cooking oatmeal. Second I didn’t use any butter and so the only oil that I used was coconut oil. Now I might be wrong, but the coconut oil easily liquifies and the oven temperature was at 350 degrees. So I’m guessing it heats up faster… because it cooked faster and browned more around the edges. Okay…. it was burnt but I fix that.

Now after a little change here and there I came out much better. More chewy and still crunchy. I found this recipe on Martha Stewart site and exchanged the brown sugar with maple syrup. That was only because I didn’t have any. Which is why I used the quick cooking oatmeal instead of your regular old fashion roll oatmeal. Now the cooking time is cut down to half the cooking time, which is 7 minutes. Kind of like it… Hahaha. Just got to make sure they don’t burn.

Here is the recipe with my twist to it.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups quick-cooking oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoon flax seed
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoon or less of coconut oil
  • 1/4 maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • dash of nutmeg

Make sure to put therm in your freezer for 15 minutes before cooking them. Makes it easier to scoop and shape. Preheat your oven at 275 degrees and rotate after 4 minutes

20130124-223956.jpg

20130124-224007.jpg

Leave a Reply

